Business visa up to five years for Saarc nationals

Business visas can be granted for up to five years or for a shorter duration as per the requirement of the nationals of Saarc countries except Nepal, Bhutan and Pakistan, union Minister Kiren Rijiju informed the Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

In a written reply to a question, Minister of State for Home Affairs Rijiju said citizens of Nepal and Bhutan do not require any visa for visiting India.

He said a certain category of Pakistan nationals were presently eligible for grant of a multiple entry business visa for a maximum of one year but restricted to 10 places.

“Instructions have been issued by the government on July 7, 2015 regarding grant of multiple entry business visa for a period up to three years to Pakistan nationals, restricted to 15 places to special category of Pakistani businessmen of assured financial standing and credentials,” the minister said.

“Out of the Saarc countries, e-Tourist visa facility is presently available only for nationals of Sri Lanka.

“The Indian nationals do not require any visa to visit Nepal and Bhutan. All other Saarc countries are extending the facility of business visa to Indian nationals,” Rijiju said.

“Presently e-Tourist visa scheme is available to nationals of 77 countries. The inclusion of additional countries in the scheme is a continuous process which is done after consultation with all stakeholders,” he added.

The Saarc nations comprise India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *